I Purple You

The title sounds odd doesn’t it? Well to me it actually has quite the meaning to it. It’s a symbol of love that I learned through my favorite band BTS. Many people don’t like them for many reasons but one is because “it’s kpop”. But through them I learned that the color purple has more to its meaning other than it’s just a color.

Urban Dictionary on Twitter: "I Purple You: “I purple you” Definition by  Kim Taehyung One... https://t.co/MvezS7zSwn… "

For me personally I tend to find symbols and meaning to many things. I love knowing the definition or knowing about something but finding more to it. Like how many people see lady bugs as good luck or how lyrics to a song can mean something but there is more to it and a story behind it. Symbolism has its 3 qualities, arbitrary, ambiguous, and abstract. Arbitrary has no direct relationship to the object. Ambiguous has several possible meanings. And abstract means they are not material or physical and only represent objects or ideas. 

Symbolism all falls under a form of verbal communication and how it is used to show meaning or how people interpret things. In this blog specifically “ I purple you” has its ambiguous symbol with the last color of the rainbow as one meaning and another saying of “I love you” that BTS uses toward ARMY, their fanbase, as another meaning. Music for sure has its own form of communication especially when it comes to songs about emotion or experiences.

One Comment
  1. Hi Maxine! I loved your post. As a person who does not really listen to kpop, I was confused by the title of your post. I think it’s interesting that one group of people redefined a word and gave it new meaning in this context.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *